Deep South Network for Cancer

For More Information

Claudia M. Hardy, M.P.A.
Program Manager-Alabama
UAB
1530 - 3rd Avenue South, LNB 1001
Birmingham, AL 35294-0001
(205) 975-5454
(205) 975-9666 fax
claudia.hardy@ccc.uab.edu

Edward E. Partridge, M.D.
Principal Investigator
UAB
1802 6th Avenue South
NPCC 2555
Birmingham, AL 35294
(205) 934-5077
(205) 934-7428 (fax)
pakers@uabmc.edu


Mona Fouad, M.D., Ph.D.
Co-Principal Investigator
UAB
1717 11th Avenue South, MT 736
Birmingham, AL 35294-4410
(205) 934-4307
(205) 934-7959 fax
mfouad@uab.edu


Agnes Hinton, Ph.D.
Co-Principal Investigator
USM
SS Box 10015
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0015
(601) 266-5859
(601) 266-6262 fax
agnes.hinton@usm.edu


Nedra Lisovicz, Ph.D.
CHES
Investigator
UAB
1717 11th Avenue South, MT 516K
Birmingham, AL 35294-4410
(205) 996-2850
(205) 996-2974 (fax)
lisovicz@uab.edu


Theresa A. Wynn, Ph.D.
Investigator
UAB
1717 11th Ave. South, MT 516
Birmingham, AL 35294-4410
(205) 934- 6892
(205) 975-7912 fax
twynn@dopm.uab.edu


Isabel Scarinci-Searles, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Investigator
UAB
1717 11th Avenue South, MT 609
Birmingham, AL 35294-4410
(205) 975-7177
scarinci@uab.edu


John Higginbotham, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Investigator
UA
Dept of Community & Rural Medicine
Box 870326
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0326
(205) 348-7259
(205) 348-7685 fax
jhiggin@cchs.ua.edu


Mitch Shelton, Ph.D., R.N.
Investigator
UA
Box 870358
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0358
(205) 348-6271
(205) 348-5559 fax
mshelton@bama.ua.edu


Rhoda Johnson, Ph.D.
Investigator
UA
Dept of Women's Studies
Box 870272
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0272
(205) 348-9556
(205) 348-8745 fax
rjohnson@ws.as.ua.edu


John Stone, M.D., Ph.D.
Investigator
Creighton University Medical Center
Center for Health Policy & Ethics
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
(402) 280-2207
(402) 280-5735 (fax)
JohnStone@creighton.edu


Jennifer Downey, M.A.
Investigator
USM
SS Box 10015
Hattiesburg, MS 39406-0015
(601) 266-6247
(601) 266-6262
jennifer.downey@usm.edu


Joanice Thompson, B.S.M.
Liaison
UAB
1717 11th Avenue South, MT 516
Birmingham, AL 35294-4410
(205) 934-6889
(205) 975-7912 fax
jthompson@dopm.uab.edu


Lydia Cheney, M.Ed., CHES
Liaison
UAB
1530 - 3rd Avenue South, LNB 1001
Birmingham, AL 35294-0001
(205) 934-5772
(205) 975-9666 fax
lydia.cheney@ccc.uab.edu

 

Earl Sanders, M.P.H., CHES
Liaison
UAB
1530 - 3rd Avenue South, LNB 1001
Birmingham, AL 35294-0001
(205) 934-5291
(205) 975-9666 fax
earl.sanders@ccc.uab.edu


Freddie White-Johnson, M.P.P.A.
Program Manager-Mississippi
2600 Browning Road
Greenwood, MS 38930
(662) 453-3688
(662) 453- 7129 fax
fJohnson@msdelta.com


Arthur Wynn, M.Ed.
Program Coordinator-CHA-RPs
UAB
1530 - 3rd Avenue South, LNB 1001
Birmingham, AL 35294-0001
(205) 975-0904
(205) 975-9666 fax
arthur.wynn@ccc.uab.edu


Mildred Jackson, M.Ed.
Regional Coordinator
Alabama Black Belt-West
3764 County Road 43
Butler, AL 36904
(205) 459-3696
(205) 459-7666 fax
mini@tds.net


Patricia Bailey
Regional Coordinator
Alabama Black Belt-East
P.O. Box 463
Fort Deposit, AL 36032
(334) 227-4706
(334) 227-1233 fax


Joe Ann Askew
Regional Coordinator
Alabama - Jefferson County
1547 West Smithfield Road
Dolomite, AL 35061
(205) 744-5000
(205) 975-9666 fax
joeaskew@bellsouth.net


Pearlean Day, M.Ed.
Program Coordinator
Mississippi Delta
2600 Browning Road
Greenwood, MS 38930
(662) 453-3688
(662) 453-7129 fax
Pearlean.Day@usm.edu

Deep South Network for Cancer Control - Comprehensive Cancer Center web site

Picture Gallery

Home > Research > Deep South Network for Cancer Control

Deep South Network for Cancer Control

The purpose of the Deep South Network for Cancer control is to eliminate the disparity in cancer death rates between blacks and whites in the Deep South. The program targets two poor rural areas - the Black Belt of Alabama and the Delta of Mississippi; and two urban areas - Jefferson County, AL and Hattiesburg/Laurel Metro, MS. The University of Alabama at Birmingham and the University of Southern Mississippi will work together on this program.

The Deep South Network will build upon community infrastructures, state partnerships and coalitions to: (1) provide cancer awareness activities; (2) support minority enrollment in clinical trials; and (3) promote the development of minority junior biomedical researchers.

The Community Health Advisor (CHA) model will be utilized to train women who are natural helpers to provide cancer awareness messages and resources to their communities. The CHAs will be further trained as research partners (CHA-RPs) to enhance African-American participation in clinical trials.

Minority Investigator Training Program (MITP) Summer Program (June-July)

The goal of the Deep South Network Minority Investigator Training Program is to increase the number of minority students pursuing cancer research careers by:

Program Details

MITP is an eight-week training program designed for students currently enrolled in college. Students are assigned to work with mntors in the cancer research field. Students participate in a MITP Student Academy (topics include cancer biology, disparities, research design and bioethics). Students also have opportunities to interact and work with Community Health Advisors in Alabama and Mississippi who are trained as research partners.

Students are eligible to work up to 20 hours per week and will receive a stipend. The summer will culminate with a student poster and/or verbal presentation.

Application

All application materials must be received in one package. No faxed materials will be accepted.

Housing

Housing and living expenses are not provided by this program. It is the responsibility of the student to secure housing.