UAB Minority Health Young Professionals Board
The University of Alabama at Birmingham Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Center (MHRC) has launched a young professionals board to be ambassadors for the MHRC and contribute to minority focused health care delivery, research and community outreach.


The board is composed of young professionals, age 25 to 40, who represent diverse professions and ethnicities. It is designed to support all facets of the minority health initiatives facilitated by the UAB MHRC. Its mission is to enhance the community's understanding of minority health challenges and the vast opportunities for improved outcomes through community partnership and support.


The young professionals board also will establish and support the YP Health Disparities Fund and, on an annual basis, will select an MHRC project that it will support. The board will implement fundraising initiatives and will take part in hands-on community outreach projects in the Birmingham area or throughout Alabama's Black Belt region.


In addition, the board will assist in recruiting top-notch resident candidates from all over the country who will hopefully match and train at UAB. Board members will serve as summer mentors for undergraduate students participating in the MHRC Summer Enrichment Program. Students in this program are enrolled at UAB and at each of the Historically Black Colleges and Universities across the state.


New Membership Application Process

If you are interested in applying for membership to our Young Professionals Board, please click on the link below to download your application and email to Gjuana Cleveland at

New Membership Application

The Executive Leadership of the MHRC YPB Inaugural Board:

Donald Watkins, Jr., of Donald V. Watkins, PC
Corey Hartman, M.D., of Southview Dermatology
Veronica Merritt, J.D.
Jamika Kirk, of UAB

Donald Watkins
Corey Hartman
Veronica Merritt
Stephanie Mays
Eugena A. White
President 2008-2009
Donald Watkins, Jr.
President 2009-2010
Corey Hartman, M.D.
President 2010-2011
Veronica Merritt, J.D.
President 2011-2012
Stephanie Mays, J.D.
President 2012-2013
Eugena A. White

Other members of the UAB MHRC Young Professionals Board are:

Brooke E. Adams, Naye M. Bailey, Michael Bivins, Gerald Brooks, J. Kyle Buchanan, Kyrel Buchanan, Cedric J. Burden, Diandra S. Debrosse Burnley, Armmon L. Carter, Felisha R. Chism, Felecia Cunningham, Nefertiti Durant, Raegan W. Durant, Miguel L. Ferguson, Tammy M. Fincher, Toni Green, Nazaren Hartman, Weaver L. Hawkins IV, Daagye Hendricks, Andrea Holland, Kelvin W. Howard, Howard Johnson, Tyrell F. Jordan, Griena H. Knight, Bacarra Mauldin, Stephanie H. Mays, Kimberly M. Perkins, Charles Price II, Sigfredo Rubio, Naveed Sami, LeQuez Shipman, L'Tryce M. Slade, LaQuisha M. Thomas, Miguel Vilchez, Barry W. Walker and David L. Williams, Jr.


MHRC Young Professional Board - 2009

All In Casino Royale 2013

MHRC Young Professional Board Fundraiser - "Casino Royale"

All In Casino Royal 2010

All In Casino Royal 2009 ( pictures)